NaNoWriMo 2014 Recap

Yeah, so, no updates through November. NaNo didn’t go exactly as I planned. To be honest, I lacked motivation throughout most of the month. My grandmother passed away early into the month. I was able to bounce back word count wise, but I never really got ahead the way that I would like to have. I was constantly struggling to meet par for the day. And then I got Dragon Age: Inquisition, and the month just went to hell. Bioware recaptured my heart with their companions, save for Sera and Vivienne, and I devoted more time to that than I did to writing. There was also the fact that these past two weeks of classes have been completely awful. Professors that haven’t wanted anything due all semester, and now they want everything turned in. Finals week. Go figure.

My final word count logged in at 41,705 words. So, not terrible. I have 120 pages, but that only came out to about seven chapters. I have twenty two chapters planned. That has never happened. Usually, my chapters are far shorter than average. I actually did a full outline for this novel, and I feel like that helped me, even if I didn’t meet the goal. I hope that, with this outline, I can go back to working on this story at a later date, because I did enjoy working on it. The characters originally came from another idea that I had been working on, Kenna and Reagan in particular, and it was fun to change them around in very different ways. Kenna became more self-conscious and hesitant, less carefree, and Reagan became more patient and easy-going, though their main roles (student and teacher, respectively) didn’t change.

Eventually, I hope to post various bits of the story itself on here. I’ll put up an excerpt either later tonight or tomorrow, and I’ll go on editing particular sections and post them as I get a chance. Exams start Thursday, then I have two more on Monday, but after that, I should have more time to work on things.

Even if I didn’t meet the goal this year, I still enjoyed writing and working on things other than something for a class. And that’s what it’s about. It’s why I love writing. Creating these characters that you give life to and come to care about. Giving them personalities and strengths and faults. I love the planning process and getting the chance to explore and express various ideas. I love there’s a community with over 300,000 people who feel the same way. 310,000+ people participated, and I hope every one of them enjoyed themselves and are proud of themselves for even participating, regardless of whether or not they won.

Cheers Everyone!

Mayuuya

Leave a Reply

